Jul
23
2014

Mile High Backyard Boot Kamp

Oh, how we love Denver! There’s so much to see, so much to do, and so little time. We thought about skipping class and going to explore the city, but we would much rather explore the KACE appliances with you! Registration is open, and we’ve got a few seats remaining for the Denver Backyard Boot Kamp. More details and registration can be found at https://www.regonline.com/KaceDenver14.

We want you to learn all the latest tricks and tips for using your Dell KACE Appliance. We’ll be using K1000 v6.0 and K2000 v3.6 in the classroom, so if you aren’t using them yet, this is the perfect opportunity to get comfortable with them!

You’ll gain step-by-step guidance to help you with initial agent provisioning, software management, patch management, user roles, inventory, scripted installations, native imaging, and much more. Visit the event website for the full list of upcoming events and cities. Remember – seats are extremely limited for these training events, so register now for the city or time frame that best suits your needs!


Posted in Featured, New Posts | Tagged , , , , | Leave a comment
Jul
21
2014

Dell World User Forum 2014 Savings

This year, the biggest Dell World ever will take over Austin the first week of November. Meet industry powerhouses, experts and your peers at the Dell World User Forum 2014 in Austin, Texas. Maybe you know it as KACE Konference, or Software User Forum, but no matter what you call it- it’s certain to be the learning event of the year!

We are pleased to announce that the Buy-One-Get-One offer that many attendees have enjoyed in past years is happening again for 2014! You must pre-register, or complete your registration before August 31st to be eligible for this special pricing. If you haven’t already done so, we encourage you to pre-register to lock in your savings. You and a colleague can attend User Forum for the price of one! Since each User Forum pass comes with a Dell World general admission pass, it’s really like you are getting 4 passes for the price of 1!

Mark your calendars for Dell World User Forum taking place November 4 – 7, 2014 at the Austin Hilton and the Austin Convention Center!

Registration is opening soon- pre-register for User Forum at http://www.dellworld.com/ for special pricing and more registration information.

 

Posted in Featured, New Posts | Tagged , , , , | Leave a comment
Jul
17
2014

Calling All System Administrators!

Are you ready for SysAdmin Day? System Administrator Appreciation Day 2014 is on its way! July 25th will be a day where all system administrators will feel the love. Starting July 14th and all the way to the end of July 25th, SysAdmin Day, we are running our #ITMess4Success Sweepstakes!

Check out the Dell KACE Blog post how you can win an Alienware laptop or 1 of 5 Amazon gift cards!

Posted in Featured, New Posts | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment
Jul
16
2014

Here’s what’s coming up in KACE Kontinuing Education

 

KACE Kontinuing Education (KKE) is an ongoing free supplement to JumpStart training. Each week we offer new topics and/or revisit popular ones. Pay close attention to the session time, language, and topics that you’re interested in.

Date

Time

Language

Topic

17-July 8 AM PST; 11 AM EST; 4 PM GMT English Kare & Maintenance
22-July 6 AM PST; 9 AM EST; 2 PM GMT Portuguese K2000 – Dicas e Truques para Console de Recuperação
22-July 10 AM PST; 1 PM EST; 6 PM GMT English Education Sector Week: Part 1
23-July 7 AM PST; 10 AM EST; 3 PM GMT English Advanced Scripting
24-July 9 AM PST; 1 PM EST; 6 PM GMT English Education Sector Week: Part 2
29-July 7 AM PST; 10 AM EST; 3 PM GMT French Rapports et alerts avec la K1000
29-July 10 AM PST; 1 PM EST; 6 PM GMT English Booting to LAN…How does that work?
30-July 7 AM PST; 10 AM EST; 3 PM GMT English Patching and Labels
31-July 8 AM PST; 11 AM EST; 4 PM GMT English Upgrading to K1000 v6.0
5-August 9 AM PST; 1 PM EST; 5 PM GMT English Software Distribution

The complete list along with registration information, and recordings are always available at www.kace.com/KKE. Send ideas for topics you’d like added!

Posted in Featured, New Posts, Tech Talk | Tagged , , | Leave a comment
Jul
14
2014

Dr. K’s Korner – Ideas For Success

Over time a lot of software can be detected in an environment, and often times the software is removed/upgraded/etc. and may no longer useful to be listed in the K1000 inventory. Not only is it cumbersome to look at, but lots of stale records, combined with sub-optimal labels, queries, browser slowness, etc. can make some things fairly miserable. A clean database is a happy database, so I want to clean up the junk! In v6.0 we’re given the best tools ever to clean things up; better advanced search, list views that are expandable to 1000 items, and a really pretty UI (okay that’s not important to this process, but I like it).

So- when I wanted to clean up the hundreds [or thousands] of stale software inventory records from my K1000, I simply build an advanced search to look for:

Heading

Trait

Operator

Criteria

Include Next

Software Info File Size = 0 AND
Software Info Devices Does not contain <empty> AND
Software Info Label Names Does not contain Custom

This filters out records that have an associated payload (I’d rather clean those up by hand personally, as they might be related to an MI Installer/Uninstaller that I want to keep), it also excludes things I have in my Custom Inventory Labels (assuming you have a label for your custom inventory items of course).

Being a minimalist, I want to click as few times as possible, so I changed my show option at the bottom right of the list pages (New in 6.0), to 1000 for this page. That allows me to select big chunks of the old items, review the contents quickly, and then delete. What if you delete something by accident? If it’s seen on a device again in the future it will get recreated. If you wanted to be really proactive you might set this up as a smart label and then add cleaning out the contents to your regular monthly maintenance cycle (you have one, right?!)

Posted in Featured, New Posts, Tech Talk | Tagged , , | Leave a comment